Delete Range
The Delete Range function deletes the Apply To range from the worksheet. The difference between delete and clear is that delete physically removes the cells from the worksheet rather than just clearing them of content and formatting. When a range is deleted, it affects any formulas or charts that may be configured for the range.
Settings | |
|---|---|
Shift Cells | This determines how the cells are shifted after the range is deleted, either Up or Left. |
Example
A live dashboard template is configured which always shows the last 10 temperature readings from a tank with the most recent value on top and the previous 9 below along with a chart graphically displaying these values. The data connection that brings in the temperature is set up to Insert At Start with a Direction of Down. Since 10 values need to be shown the report cannot be overwritten every time but once 10 rows are filled, for every update the 11th value should “drop off” leaving the last 10.
In this case a Delete Range function must be used rather than a Clear Range so that the range of the chart series does not expand as data is brought into the report. If the value starts in cell $B$4 the 10th value is in $B$13. The chart series values are set to $B$4:$B$5. The settings for the function are:
Apply To | |
|---|---|
Cell | $B$14 |
Direction | None |
Setting | Value |
|---|---|
Shift Cells | Up |